Duck, Duck, Goose?

Duck, Duck, Goose is a children’s game from years ago when the only thing you needed to play was the kids! But these grown men who love Ducks, are not liking the sound of all the calls being yelled at them! A friend of mind wrote a profound piece on Facebook and I asked him if I could share it with you! So here goes, I will make my comment after you read his; thanks Larry Smirin!

Flashback Friday.
Last Friday I knew there was a show on TV called Duck Dynasty.
Not being a Duck hunter and having only eaten Duck a few times, (tasty by the way)
I had no interest in watching the show.
There are many shows I’m not interested in.
Not being interested in this show let alone the characters on it, I have not read what exactly, what this guy said or didn’t say, or meant, or didn’t mean.
Consequently, my life went on. But for the snow, not too badly.
Upon the deluge of postings and misquotes and Blah Blah Blah, I felt the urge to say a little something about my view of what, being an American, the Freedoms we enjoy mean to me.
Generalizing, as is my nature, like so many people in this Country I have the privilege and the Right (see Constitution) to worship as I please, This was not so in other countries for many in my linage. (see Holocaust). This was also not true for other faiths (see Crucifixion). I am not a Native American, (see Wounded Knee), I am second generation American. My family fled (I did say Fled) to America for the very rights I tried to speak of yesterday. As did Some (not all, but certainly some) of the Founding Fathers.
Let me be clear on this point…
The Freedom to Worship Is Individualized!
It is NOT the Freedom to Worship as someone else dictates.
This being said, if I am to enjoy this Freedom, who then am to deny others the same Privilege?
Those that have strong religious ties and unshakable faith will believe that their faith is the only way (see the book of John 14:6) while other cultures have similar claims.
I am not what you would call a “practicing Jew” I, not unlike many people, have my own belief system that works for me. That is my Right as an American (see Constitution).
Leading us now to the Right to Freedom of Speech!
In America, we are allowed to say anything we want!!!!
Here’s the catch, So is EVERYBODY else.
On a personal level, I find the incessant bashing of the United States of America, by it’s Citizens annoying at best. But because they are it’s Citizens, they have the Right to do so and I will support that, as have many who died for just this cause.
One more catch, ALL actions have Ramifications!
If you want to speak your mind, the cost is having to listen to someone else with a differing opinion. I don’t make these rules but I do try to live by them.
This post got really long on me, Hey! It’s my Right!

And it is my right to say I whole-heartedly agree with every word above!

About Judy Hansen

I have lived in many cities in the US and even lived in Calgary,Alberta Canada. But I always seem to end up where my life began in Toledo, Ohio. I am a wife, a mother, a grandmother, sister, aunt, and I'll be your best friend!
This entry was posted in Animals, Educationial, Entertainment, General, Legal, Politics, Religion, TV shows. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

