Darlington House

The Darlington House in Toledo, Ohio is a nursing home and rehab center. It was owned and operated by the Toledo Jewish Federation until they sold it to a private group from Cleveland. This is the story of my mother Ida Rosenberg. The end of the story is, I sued Darlington House and they settled out of court for a undiscloseable amount of money. They put in the settlement that I could never tell the amount, but they can’t hold my tongue about what happened. Mom died over 12 years ago(may she rest in peace) but I’ll never let Darlington House forget what they did to her. So the story goes like this….

Mom was at The Arbors of Sylvania for rehab from what was thought to be a stroke. That was not the case and so I had to move her to DH (Darlington House). When transport took her to DH, she was still wearing her security device from the Arbors, Mom was a flight risk, she would try to escape. DH knew about this and assured me she would be watched closely. It was a Monday morning that she moved into DH. She was scheduled for a medical test at Flower Hospital on Wednesday morning. DH was to have Mom ready for the transport van, so my sister & I went to the hospital to wait for her. She never arrived! I found out where she was when I called my home phone, from my cell phone(DH had my cell phone number) there was a message from DH, that said, “your mom wasn’t feeling well this morning so we had her taken to Toledo Hospital.” The truth is they lost my mom, she wheeled herself out the front door, alarm and all. She was in a wheel chair with no name on it. Three blocks away a kind gentleman stopped his car as mom was in the middle of the street. He asked her what her name is but mom couldn’t talk since her “stroke”. So he called 911, and that’s how she came to be in Toledo Hospital. My sister and I were very upset by all of this, I remember getting into my car and going to the hospital, but I can’t remember how I did it. I was mad, sad, worried and crying, I think my car drove itself. We arrived at Toledo Hospital where mom was known as Jane Doe Ida Ida. All mom could make them understand was her first name. Mom died in Toledo Hospital 6 days later from a brain tumor. All I wanted was for DH to own up to what they did and to make sure it never happens to anyone else. They never offered an apology and lied about what happened. It was then I decided it was time to teach them a lesson they would not soon forget. My sisters and brother and I hired a lawyer, Stevin Groth, and sued DH. I had saved that message on tape the day of the call. I had all my proof and was ready to take them on. When my lawyer asked what I wanted to sue for, I said “a letter of admission of neglect.” He said but how much money did I want. I couldn’t put a price on Mom, oh ok, a million, no, a billion, wait a trillion, my mom was priceless, how could I say how much, it was never about money!  A big thank you to Stevin Groth and all his work he did on our behalf! So they paid us off but they can’t shut me up! As long as I live and breathe I will tell this story over and over.

About Judy Hansen

I have lived in many cities in the US and even lived in Calgary,Alberta Canada. But I always seem to end up where my life began in Toledo, Ohio. I am a wife, a mother, a grandmother, sister, aunt, and I'll be your best friend!
This entry was posted in Family, Legal, Religion, Your Money. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Darlington House

  1. Judy says:

    I never let this sleeping dog lay! Darlington House was wrong then and a bad choice today!

Leave a Reply

