The World According To Garp

Have you ever seen this movie? Do you know what it is about? It’s hard to believe it came out so long ago, in 1982! I really liked the movie back then and am going to watch it again to see if I think it’s as good today. Sometimes our memories of things we liked from long ago are very different from what we like today! Strange that this is a quote by the author, John Irving, “Imagining something is better than remembering something.”  Also this quote, “The history of a city was like the history of a family—there is closeness and even affection, but death eventually separates everyone from each other. It is only the vividness of memory that keeps the dead alive forever; a writer’s job is to imagine everything so personally that the fiction is as vivid as our personal memories. ” After I watch the movie again, I’m going to have some fun and take this quiz, I love trivia games! I’ll end with this last quote, “Life,” Garp wrote, “is sadly not structured like a good old-fashioned novel. Instead an end occurs when those who are meant to peter out have petered out. All that is left is memory. But even a nihilist has memory.”

About Judy Hansen

I have lived in many cities in the US and even lived in Calgary,Alberta Canada. But I always seem to end up where my life began in Toledo, Ohio. I am a wife, a mother, a grandmother, sister, aunt, and I'll be your best friend!
This entry was posted in Books, Educationial, Entertainment, Just for fun, Movies, Philosophy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

