Breast Feeding in Public

Todays topic is from the Lovin Life After 50 publication this month. I found the question asked of Ask The Old Bag by Gayle Lagman-Cheswick.

Dear Old Bag:

I want to get my two cents in to the woman who wrote that her husband was embarrassed when a mother nursed her infant in public: I think something is messed up in his upbringing if he cannot overcome something as natural as a mother nursing her infant in public. Don’t you agree? Signed Not Embarrassed

Dear Not Embarrassed:

We are all brought up in households where body exposure is handled in different ways. In some homes a child never sees a nude body. In others, nudity is an everyday natural occurrence. If you were raised in a home where body exposure was closely guarded, I could see where it may make you feel a little uncomfortable to see a mother nursing  (although if done like most women do it, there is nothing to see). I say, if it makes you uncomfortable, step away. It is here to stay!

I agree, 100%! What would you do?

About Judy Hansen

I have lived in many cities in the US and even lived in Calgary,Alberta Canada. But I always seem to end up where my life began in Toledo, Ohio. I am a wife, a mother, a grandmother, sister, aunt, and I'll be your best friend!
This entry was posted in Family, General, Health. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Breast Feeding in Public

  1. Breastfeeding is not vulgar or obscene. Neither is nudity. These things are not about sex. People should believe and act and behave as human beings, not animals.
    All kinds of sexuality and sexual orientesd advertisements and programming are openly about in the media today. So, why are people offended by public breastfeeding or nudity????

Leave a Reply

