iPatient

“This computer record creates what I call an “iPatient” — and this iPatient threatens to become the real focus of our attention, while the real patient in the bed often feels neglected, a mere placeholder for the virtual record.” I found this by searching for something else and it stopped me cold. The opinion of Abraham Verghese, a professor at the Stanford University School of Medicine, and the author of the novel “Cutting for Stone,” explains exactly how I feel about this subject. Nothing is more upsetting than to have a doctor pay more attention to his computer than to me! Don’t just think it’s the patients that have an opinion on this, read what a retired Doc thinks about it.

 
About Judy Hansen

I have lived in many cities in the US and even lived in Calgary,Alberta Canada. But I always seem to end up where my life began in Toledo, Ohio. I am a wife, a mother, a grandmother, sister, aunt, and I'll be your best friend!
This entry was posted in General, Health. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

