Mannequins

Fashion is more than a strategic cut or delicate stitch! Designers use a mannequin to complete a design. Their label makes a statement, but the lady wearing it makes it her own! Some of the fashion you see in a runway show looks good, but I wonder if any of them could sit down in some of those dresses. But I digress from today’s post. I grew up with a mannequin in our house, my Dad was a furrier, and needed the “dummy” (model of the human body used for a variety of purposes) to create his works! The 1940-1950 mannequin was very different from those today but every mannequin serves it’s purpose.

About Judy Hansen

I have lived in many cities in the US and even lived in Calgary,Alberta Canada. But I always seem to end up where my life began in Toledo, Ohio. I am a wife, a mother, a grandmother, sister, aunt, and I'll be your best friend!
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mannequins

  1. I know a dummy who is quite stiff, but that dummy is no mannequin.

    By the way, I find the term mannequin to be offensive in that it is sexist. I ask that rather than the word mannequin: Why isn’t the word womannequin? – you know, as in blonde.

Leave a Reply

