Rent a Friend

I cannot tell you the number of times I’ve heard Roland make a joke about this topic. It goes like this, “I don’t have any friends, I missed my payment at the rent-a-friend-center.”  Just this morning I was reading a story in the Las Vegas weekly titled “Look at all the lonely people,”  by Abigail Goldman. It turns out to be about friends for sale, “it is the sum of our modern equation: Community decline + facebook + loneliness + 80-hour work weeks + anxiety + the Great Recession + PayPal = RentAFriend.com.” Now if Roland were to do a commentary on this subject can you guess what he would say? That guy stole my idea is what! Do great minds think alike?

About Judy Hansen

I have lived in many cities in the US and even lived in Calgary,Alberta Canada. But I always seem to end up where my life began in Toledo, Ohio. I am a wife, a mother, a grandmother, sister, aunt, and I'll be your best friend!
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rent a Friend

  1. Roland says:

    I have pulled that rent-a-friend center for so long, I hate to say it’s been decades. I guess I should have taken a patent out on the concept.
    I have another twist to that story, as well. When I was the best man at Terry DiSalle’s garden wedding in Wilmington, NC, I told people who asked me how I knew Terry that I did not really know him and that Terry retained my services from the “rent-a-best man center.” It was funnier than dammit at how many people actually believed me.
    By the way, have I ever told you the story on how Bellagio wine got it’s name? Or about the time, I took a truck driver to the hospital who later died from the aerial on a van that struck his arm as it passed him while he sat sitting along side the road with his arm out the window?
    I think, I should write a book entitled “Gullible’s Travels.”

Leave a Reply

