Speeding

As I read the blog entry of Tim Higgins over at Just Blowing Smoke, I had my own AhHa memory.

My story begins in August of 1980. Even though I lived 2000 miles away from Toledo and my parents, I would call them every week, or more. (No cell phones back then) My kids had just left on a 3 week vacation with friends traveling and camping throughout the western U.S. I had called Mom & Dad on Sunday.
On Tuesday evening, August 19th, I was on my way home, when for no reason my foot pushed down on the gas pedal and I was speeding. I didn’t see the motorcycle police until they pulled me over. When asked where I was going so fast, I just said “up to the gas station to pee, I have a bladder infection.” And with that took off with them in hot pursuit. They waited for me at the gas station and when I came out, I showed them my prescription from the Dr. I had gotten earlier that day. Well, the one policeman must have had sympathy for my problem, I didn’t get a speeding ticket, but got one for no rear tail light! He told me to slow down on my way home, of course I said I would. I got back on the road and once again having no control over my right foot, I was speeding again. What was my hurry, who knew, I was going home to an empty house. I arrived home to hear my phone ringing, I ran in to answer it. It was my sister in California, I knew by the sound of her voice it was bad news. That was the night my father died. At the very moment I was speeding, was when he had his heart attack! Strange things happen every day!!!!

About Judy Hansen

I have lived in many cities in the US and even lived in Calgary,Alberta Canada. But I always seem to end up where my life began in Toledo, Ohio. I am a wife, a mother, a grandmother, sister, aunt, and I'll be your best friend!
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

