Old Wise Owl

This is the story of an old wise owl that came and perched on the brick ledge of my porch a few years ago! I sat in the shadows and just watched and listened for the owl to hoot. The owl turned toward me and I swear it saw the sadness in my eyes. I said in a joking way, “please old wise owl, tell me what do you see in me?” The old wise owl cocked his head and it hooted at me, and his hoot sounded like this, a pained cry from deep within the feathered wings of the owl! Are you in as much pain as I am, old owl? As it looked away into the moonlight and flew off, it took my pain away with it! Just when things are at their worst, I think of my owl and let my pain be carried off into the moonbeam!

About Judy Hansen

I have lived in many cities in the US and even lived in Calgary,Alberta Canada. But I always seem to end up where my life began in Toledo, Ohio. I am a wife, a mother, a grandmother, sister, aunt, and I'll be your best friend!
This entry was posted in Original Works. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Old Wise Owl

  1. Very, very good. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

