District 6

I found the following Letter To the Editor in the Toledo Blade and it made me so angry. Oh not because I disagree with the letter writer about the topic. What I do take issue with is District 6 is not just Point Place people! So read it for yourself and I think you will see my point!!!

Article published October 04, 2009
Oust Webb, take back Point Place
 
As a former Point Place resident, I watched with amusement as the “Take Back Toledo” campaign worked to get a recall petition on the ballet to oust Carty Finkbeiner as mayor of Toledo. I think it’s time for the residents of Point Place to start a new recall campaign to “Take Back Point Place,” and oust Lindsay Webb. 

 Let’s examine her first term so far. Her first action was to sell out to Carty on the election of council president, and then she said she was misled. She lets hundreds of thousands of dollars put aside for Ottawa River dredging evaporate. She allows Point Place to be blindsided by FEMA, saying our Lake Erie dikes have been compromised, and many property owners must now buy high-dollar flood insurance. She does a legal end run to get the “Nine is Fine” issue on the ballot, and then spends thousands of dollars of her own money to finance the ill-fated campaign.  

What was she thinking?  

She justifies her lack of attendance at council meetings, saying her job takes her away from town. I know for a fact that she looks the other way on neighborhood blight issues, and turns a blind eye on commercial properties abusing city trash pickup.  

Exactly what is her idea of representation? Does she have an agenda? More photo ops?  

As far as I’m concerned, it’s time to clean house in the 6th District and start a petition drive to remove Ms. Webb and replace her with someone who will represent the people of Point Place as they deserve to be represented. Maybe Jeanine Perry would come back?

Gary Spear Erie, Mich.

About Judy Hansen

I have lived in many cities in the US and even lived in Calgary,Alberta Canada. But I always seem to end up where my life began in Toledo, Ohio. I am a wife, a mother, a grandmother, sister, aunt, and I'll be your best friend!
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to District 6

  1. Maybe Gary Spear can do what he so boldly suggests. Oh that’s right, he cannot circulate any political petition in Toledo or any other place in Ohio. Hell, he doesn’t even live in Ohio, at least not according to the address he provided in his letter. Tell the damn Michigander to mind his own backyard and we will take care of our own.

  2. Roland says:

    ooooooo, maybe I should not have been so unclear as to how I think about an out-of-state person commenting on my city council district.

Leave a Reply

