Who's Got Your Number?

I found some listings for old phone numbers of friends and relatives and it got me to thinking! I wonder who has the number now, it might be fun to call them and just say Hi, I knew who had your number before you. Can you remember when phone numbers looked like this, LI-77105? How about when you didn’t have to dial the local 419 first? And how about phone numbers that are similar and folks keep miss dialing! This happened to my Mother way back when, it’s a cute story. She would get calls all the time for a Real Estate Company and she would explain that they dialed the wrong number and gave them the correct one. She was always polite, that’s just how she was. So one day she was busy on the phone, making calls to get ads from businesses for a donor book she was working on. She got one, too many calls that day that were for the real estate company. That’s when I suggested she call the real estate company and ask them to place an ad in the donor book. After all, she is nice to their customers. She spoke directly to the person in charge and without hesitation bought a large ad for Mom’s kindness to their clients. That was the first of many years they would buy the ad from Mom. In fact the first year was enough to make Mom take home the honor of highest new business award. Moral of the story: be kind to wrong numbers, you never know when it might pay off!

About Judy Hansen

I have lived in many cities in the US and even lived in Calgary,Alberta Canada. But I always seem to end up where my life began in Toledo, Ohio. I am a wife, a mother, a grandmother, sister, aunt, and I'll be your best friend!
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Who's Got Your Number?

  1. I recall my home telephone number as a child in the 1950s. It was KL1634; the KL stood for Klondike.

Leave a Reply

