A Child Learns What He Lives

I found this to be so true.

A Child Learns What He Lives
By Dorothy Law Nolte, Ph.D.

If children live with criticism,
they learn to condemn.

If children live with hostility,
they learn to fight.

If children live with ridicule,
they learn to feel shy.

If children live with shame,
they learn to feel guilty.

If children live with tolerance,
they learn patience.

If children live with praise,
they learn appreciation.

If children live with fairness,
they learn justice.

If children live with security,
they learn to have faith in themselves and in those about them.

If children live with friendliness,
they learn the world is a nice place in which to live.

Copyright © 1972 by Dorothy Law Nolte

About Judy Hansen

I have lived in many cities in the US and even lived in Calgary,Alberta Canada. But I always seem to end up where my life began in Toledo, Ohio. I am a wife, a mother, a grandmother, sister, aunt, and I'll be your best friend!
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A Child Learns What He Lives

  1. Ladray Means says:

    I was so happy and surprised to find this on the internet. I remember reading this many years ago in a coworkers cubicle. This observation is still relevant in rearing children in todays society.

    Thank you for sharing this insightful thoughts.

  2. Trish Read says:

    my oldest child is 31next month and I used to have a copy of the poem hanging up in my home. It is so inspirational and we tried to rear our children using it as a guide.Thankfully it really worked for us, and we have happy well adjusted adult children today! It is so true and really works

  3. Penny says:

    I searched for this having remembered it from my days managing child care centers. Now I am dealing with low income families in a housing authority and some high intensity issues have errupted. I’ll be reading this and handing it out tonight at a required parent meeting. Wish me luck! So happy it was so easy to find.

  4. Marie says:

    I think this is a wonderful poem. However, I do wish Dorothy Law Nolte Ph.D. had not used the universal “he” when she wrote it. I think it should be entitled “Children Learn What They Live.” If children live with criticism, they learn to condemn, etc…..

  5. Barbara Damico says:

    I am 56 years old. When I was 21 I remember seeing this poem in a physicians office where I was employed. I fell in love with the words, and realized how lucky I was to have had my parents. I am a very stable individual because of them. I will give this poem to my sister who is raising a teenager today and loses patience sometimes. I will also pass it along to all the new mothers of today that I know, because values have seemed to change so much with the times.

  6. Rain says:

    I am a bachelor of science in accountancy student and we ware made to study this poem for our sociology finals exam. Our task is to explain each line and give concrete examples for each. I find that I can really relate to this poem and it inspired me to do my very best in my finals. I am positive that this poem has touched millions of hearts and if it’s not asking too much, if anyone out there can share about themselves and how they can relate to this poem from their own experience, please email me at shadow04@yahoo.com. Your experiences would be vey helpful in making my finals exam a success. (^^,)

  7. KrisBelucci says:

    Hi, good post. I have been wondering about this issue,so thanks for posting. I’ll definitely be coming back to your site.

  8. chu capio says:

    I disagree with some of its phrases….i dont like to preach…but i think Proverbs 22:6 is still the best instruction to rear a child…and nothing beats…the rod of correction, Hebrews 12:7-8 If ye endure chastening, God dealeth with you as with sons; for what son is he whom the father chasteneth not? But if ye be without chastisement, whereof all are partakers, then are ye bastards, and not sons…

    I myself grew with the idea of living with criticism, hostility, shame and ridicule….but it was my parents who helped me cope up through their Bible principles….learning to condemn, fight, be shy are all but natural trait of any person….it shouldnt be an excuse to let someone, much more a child to live loose and restrained from Bible instruction.

  9. Judy says:

    Thanks for all the comments, I still believe in the title and the body of this work.

  10. Judy says:

    It’s nice to know that this entry has continued to bring new readers to this blog. Little did I know when I made this entry that so many of you searched the net for it and landed here. Ya’all come back now ya here!!!!

  11. Judy says:

    I am so happy that this poem continues to generate interest in my blog. At one time it was number one on a Google search, which I thought was odd that it beat out the author. Check back because I found more poems I will share with my readers.

  12. Roland says:

    That poem is so true, thanks for posting it!

Leave a Reply

